16 days … or more … or less

I really haven’t been counting down the days until Baby G’s due date since only 5% of babies actually arrive on their due dates. August 30 has always been more of a suggestion to me than anything. I’ve assumed that it would be sooner since I’ve exercised religiously throughout this pregnancy and also since my body is so small … but that doesn’t really mean anything. Babies come when they want!

With Baby G we have learned from the very beginning that he/she likes to move. I don’t even worry about “counting kicks” because it’s almost ridiculous how mobile this child is in the womb. With our last couple ultrasounds, we’ve learned that Baby G’s legs are measuring 2 weeks ahead of the rest of his/her body … and those legs already have calf muscles! Our little triathlete or runner (or giant!) in the making. 🙂

We’ve also learned that Baby G is still breech. Maybe it’s due to the long legs, maybe the little stinker is just being stubborn, but either way we had to go ahead and schedule a c-section for August 28. Of course I could go into labor before then. The statistic is that only 3-4% of babies are still breech at birth … which seems really low to me! I’m hoping that Baby G decides to turn and we don’t have to have a c-section, but then again, someone has to be in that 3-4% … and it might just be us. We’ve been trying any voodoo tricks we can to get this baby to flip!

6-IMG_2555

I did have this long pity-party post lamenting about having a c-section, but after reading it again, I deleted it. I’m at peace with however Baby G has to enter this world. There are definitely pros and cons with either a vaginal or c-section birth. Either way, we still get a baby out of it!

No matter how all this actually plays out, I keep telling myself that God has a specific design and purpose for each of us. Through all these emotions and fears, I constantly hear God asking me to trust him through all of this.

As we do get closer to bringing our new roommate home, we’ve been busy getting the house prepared. After four baby showers, there was a LOT of stuff to go through, get washed, etc. Scott installed these amazing shelves:

4-IMG_2544

I broke out the breast pump and figured out how it all works. I still find it amazing that my body will (hopefully) be feeding this baby!

1-IMG_2538

We have the jogging stroller ready to rock for some nice autumn walks around the neighborhood.

3-IMG_2543

Over 130 (!!!) thank you cards have been written … and a couple of bottles of wine have been consumed in the process … Scott is easily bribed 🙂

5-IMG_2553

Burp cloths and pillow cases have been made:

8-IMG_2573

2-IMG_2539

My testing numbers for “gestational diabetes” have been laughably normal. My doctor still doesn’t think that I actually have GD, but he wants me to keep testing just to be safe. My numbers have been averaging around 80. They need to be under 120.

9-IMG_2574

We still have a few things left to do like … install the car seat base in the car and pack our bags. Bottles have been washed, sound machine and baby spy cam are installed. Here’s a nice bathroom selfie from this past weekend (37 weeks pregnant):

7-IMG_2567

If you look closely, you can see the “baby beer” brewing under the towel. I don’t ask Scott about his beer brewing methods! We hope to get this bottled this weekend so we can pass these out to family on Baby G’s BIRTHday. 🙂

The only BIG things that are left are narrowing down our list of names (we keep changing our minds!) oh … and buying a new car! Bleh. I have a company vehicle and was just notified on Monday that I would have to turn it in and wouldn’t be getting it back. I’ll still get a vehicle stipend, but this means as of Friday we are down to one car! Gah! So, we are scrambling a little bit. I’m so thankful that my office supplies me with a vehicle/stipend, but I would have liked more than three days notice to find a new vehicle. Hopefully Baby G holds tight in there for just a little bit longer.

I hope to get some time this weekend to FINALLY take some photos of the nursery. We love it in there!!

Allie

5 thoughts on “16 days … or more … or less

  1. Oh wow, can I borrow some of your organizational genes??? Exciting times. Thanks so much for sharing your intimate details. Cara’s baby is breech also, so maybe you will have to share some of your wives tales. 🙂 I think Rowynn was too, but she made the turn. Praying all goes well for you. Love ya,

  2. Prayers coming from Oklahoma as well. This is such an exciting time in your lives and your Uncle George and I could not be more thrilled for you. Sending so much love and hugs….hugs…..hugs!

  3. Love your update and info, Allie. But now I think it’s time you update your finger nail polish to represent gender neutral… one hand with pink polish and one hand with blue polish! Ha! Ha! Love you both~

  4. I really love the book shelves! They turned out so good! Can’t wait to see the rest of the nursery. It was looking good a few weeks ago. Now you just need Baby G to make an appearance. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

