Baby Update

Baby G is over halfway through cooking, so I thought it’s about time I get to updating y’all on some happenings around here. At the rate I’m posting, the next one will be a birth announcement!

Scott and I have quite a few posts in the works, we just haven’t found the time in the evenings to get anything written up. Since our last post, we’ve done our annual butchering with my family, our area received 15+ inches of snow, that all melted and made our backyard a swimming pool, we’ve traveled to Florida and this weekend my parents came down and we got all kinds of fun stuff accomplished.

But, since most people just want to know about the little kiddo, I’ll get all those fun details out in this post rather than string it out over the course of many posts.

We’ve had some fun taking weekly and monthly photos of my growing belly. It was crazy looking through each week to see how much Baby G has grown. I don’t feel too different week to week and clothes are definitely fitting a lot tighter!

1-Baby Photos1

Here are the weekly photos:

1-Baby Photos3
2-Baby Photos4

How far along: 21 weeks
Gender: We are going to wait until the baby comes out!
Weight gain: 8-10 lbs.
Maternity clothes: I actually haven’t worn any maternity clothes yet. A lot of my regular pants are low rise and I just let my belly hang over (attractive, I know!). For the other pants that are too tight to button, I just use a hair tie to give me a little more room. I’m really trying to get out of buying maternity pants since summer is soooo close!
Sleep: Sleep is fairly normal. I’m a back sleeper and trying to transition to sleeping on my sides. I end up rolling around a lot to get comfy, but once I find that sweet spot, I’m out cold. I’m reeeeeally dreading losing my 8 hours of sleep once the kiddo comes.
Best moment since announcing: Having Scott feel the baby kick. I love seeing his face light up when he feels one. I also LOVED our 19 week anatomy ultrasound where we got to see the baby moving like crazy. Definitely an active kiddo! It was also nice to see that the baby looked more like a baby rather than a blob.
Worst moment this month: Experiencing the beginning of heartburn. I don’t get it often, but it’s not fun. If this is the worst moment, then I’ll take it.
Miss anything: I miss running! Baby G lays heavily on my bladder and every half mile I’d have to pee. So, I’ve been doing plenty of walking; averaging 3+ miles each day. I am also missing adult beverages. Book Club and baseball games just aren’t the same.
Movement: I started to feel the baby kick around 15 weeks, but wasn’t 100% sure it was kicks. Week 17 hit and there were definitely some strong punches and Scott could feel them. Week 20 (while watching the Cardinals Opening Day) full somersault type movements were happening. Yes, this child has already decided which team he/she is for.
Cravings: None.
Queasy or sick: Not at all unless I eat too much or wait too long between meals. Very mild though. I bow to those ladies who deal with this the whole 40 weeks!
Looking forward to: Getting through some busy weeks at work and being able to work on the nursery!

Can’t wait to update you all on the projects my parents helped us with this weekend. I never knew that recessed lighting and new fans would make me so happy!

That’s about it from our side of the street!

– Allie

2 thoughts on “Baby Update

  1. Allie, you are so cute with your Baby bump!!!! I can’t believe this is reality. You will be a Mom in a few short months!!!!! Eeeek! So excited.

Leave a Reply

