M.I.A.

Well, well, well. If it isn’t your old, mangy, transient blogger.

Yeah, Scott and I kinda fell off the grid these past few weeks. I wish I could tell you that we’ve been super busy and this post will be super long. Sorry. No dice. In the words of my god-daughter, we’ve been “lame, lame, lame”. So, here is a quick rundown of our lame happenings!

House of Cards
Scott and I have unofficially crowned ourselves the Binge-Watching King and Queen. We successfully made it through Sherlock over Christmas, and just finished up House of Cards … the new season at the end of February can’t come soon enough!!

house of cards

Yes Please
Ahhhh, Amy Poehler. I’ve been listening to her new book via Audible, and Amy has been my running partner for my evening runs. Gosh she is funny. So so FUNNY!!! I’ve heard her been called a poor man’s Tina Fey, which is just wrong. She is one amazing comedienne! If you are looking for a laugh, are a lover of SNL, then this book is for you. Oh and definitely get the audio version. You won’t regret it!

yes pleaseCedars Frostbite Half Marathon
Speaking of running, Scott and I are signed up for our first half-marathon of 2015! This one is located in Lebanon, TN and … best part … it is ONLY $20!!!! It’s technically $8 if you don’t want a shirt. Scott and I love us some long sleeve tech tees, so we were all over this one.

half marathon

Snow
I know the northeast is about to get a snow pummeling any day now (stay safe up there!), but down here in the South, snow is a big deal … even a little bit. I was soooo pumped when it decided to snow big, fluffy flakes all day when I was at work, but then melted by the time I traveled home. How courteous. 🙂

1-IMG_1640
Girls Craft Night
One of my good friends decided to have a bunch of girls over for cocktails and crafts a couple weekends ago. I’m all about both of those, so I was definitely in! We all made different crafts, and I came away from the evening with an octopus. Scott and I had pieced some pallet slats together and I gave them a light white-wash … last summer. We didn’t know where to go from there, so it’s been sitting in our music room ever since.

Craft night rolls around, I free-handed the octopus via pencil then filled it in with some Indigo Batik (Sherwin-Williams) paint that we had. Boom. My favorite part is how the knots in the wood look like its eyes.

2-IMG_1650
New Car
We are finally getting ready to pull the trigger on buying a new-to-us car. We wanted to do this back in October, but time got away from us. We’ve decided that we want a used, 2012 Toyota Camry SE … now just to find a dealer that isn’t such a shyster …

Camry

Song of the Month
Lord I Need You by Matt Maher. We’ve had his live version CD for a while and I usually listen to it while folding laundry. Anytime this song comes on, I’m reduced to a ugly crying. It’s so refreshing though. This song is definitely a favorite!

3-IMG_1648
Another favorite part of this song is the bridge section:

Teach my song to rise to You
When temptation comes my way
And when I cannot stand I’ll fall on You
Jesus, You’re my hope and stay

I love you Matt Maher, you musical genius, you.

That’s it from our side of the street!

– Allie

3 thoughts on “M.I.A.

  1. I love your octopus! He turned out really cute and the knots fell in the appropriate places. 🙂 You have so much talent in so many areas.

Leave a Reply

