We Survived Christmas

Happy 2015!

I’ll apologize for the blogging hiatus. We were traveling for the holidays and managed to sleep in a different bed six nights in a row. I don’t think we went to bed before midnight any night we were home. Needless to say, we were worn out!

The weekend before Christmas I came down with the dreaded cough/cold that had been going around. Throw a fever on top of that and I was miserable for about 4 days. My body was actually sore from coughing so much! Bleh. Good thing Scott was awesome and made me plenty of homemade chicken noodle soup.

1-IMG_1585

I felt I was still pretty contagious on Christmas Eve, so I stayed home while Scott went to church. I was sad to miss out on the candlelight service, but I probably would have infected everyone with my diseased coughing.

I did manage to take a shower and take a Christmas Eve photo with the husband.

2-IMG_1592

Christmas morning we headed to my parents to begin our Christmas travels.

christmas group

That’s my mom’s side of the family, minus a few. They are a crazy bunch, but it was so much fun to have them all over at my parent’s house for dinner. We even broke out all the Christmas home videos from the 80’s. Let’s just say that singing “The 12 Days of Christmas” was a hilarious tradition. It was also fun to see our parents when some of us were so young … and others hadn’t made an appearance yet.

I also realized that I didn’t take hardly ANY photos while we were home. We had a full house and getting some sleep, a shower and maybe a run in was considered lucky! I wasn’t even thinking of photos. Plus, there were tons of little kiddos to play with and I was more than content to play with them.

On Sunday we had our annual Cousin’s Night Out in St. Louis. It’s always a crazy evening, and this year was no exception.

3-IMG_1596

Scott and I met my cousins at 4Hands Brewery in Soulard, and then ventured to Square One Brewery and had dinner. We finished the evening at McGurk’s Irish Pub, which is our traditional last stop of the evening.

4-IMG_1598

5-IMG_1599

We rounded out our trip home by spending a couple days with Scott’s family and playing with our nephew … who is three. He definitely keeps us on our toes! Three is such a funny age. Oh and we also jumped on the Pinterest train and made these nail and string art pieces for Scott’s mom and grandma:

6-IMG_1602

I’m making of vow to be a better picture taker in 2015. This Christmas was pathetic on my part! We have our new DSLR and I need to learn how to use it. A lot of that is just getting it out and snapping photos to get used to the different settings. Hopefully you’ll see some higher quality photos rolling through here rather than all camera phone photos.

Oh and speaking of the new year, Scott and I kept it tame for New Year’s Eve and dressed in our best flannel (we seriously have a problem with matching all the time) and went to dinner.

7-IMG_1617
We are still keeping on with our 1,000 mile challenge! December was a doozy on us between the travel and me being diseased. So we are behind about 20 miles. No biggie, but still. We were a couple slackers!

Last year I had a slew of resolutions that we wanted to try and I think we successfully failed at all of them. Haha! This year I’m going to keep it simple. I’d like to finish the 1,000 mile challenge, complete a couple marriage Bible studies with Scott and finish up our house to-do list.

That’s about it from our side of the street. I hope you had a great holiday and cheers to a happy and healthy new year!

– Allie

One thought on “We Survived Christmas

  1. Well I’m impressed, because you took more pictures than I managed to take. When you’re having fun, you don’t necessarily think of the camera. You made a hit with Rowynn as she can point you out in a picture quick as lightening. Thanks for making us feel at home. We miss our extended family and are thankful when we have the opportunity to get together.

Leave a Reply

