We’re Going Streaking!

Not the naked kind. The running kind! … unless you are running naked, then I guess you are double streaking? I really hope no one does that. Clothes are good! Very good!

2013 was a really good running year for me. I completed the 1,000 mile challenge and felt great through the holidays and ended my year on a really high note. 2014 has been hit or miss as far as physical activity goes. We had these grandiose plans of running 500 miles and biking 1,500, but that never really happened.

So, rather than waiting until 2015 to start up, why not start right now? So, we decided we would.

Road1

November 10, 2015 will be our end date. However, to add a little bit of friendly competition, we decided to add the streaking element.

A running “streak”, as adopted by the Streak Runners International, Inc., and United States Running Streak Association, Inc., is to run at least one mile within each calendar day. Running may occur on either the roads, a track, over hill and dale, or on a treadmill.

Sidenote: who knew that there was an actual running streak association?!

So, hopefully we’ll be streaking through the holidays. My goal is to make it past 30 days. The current record holder for longest running streak (for all your trivia people) is Jon Sutherland from California who is currently at 45.46 years. YEARS!!!!! He is also 63 years old, which means he started this when he was 18 years old. Craziness.

So, I want to invite you all to do the 1,000 mile challenge with us. You don’t have to run. You can walk all 1,000 miles. It’s only 2.74 miles each day. That’s nothing. You probably walk more during a trip to Walmart or the mall. Plus, think how good you’ll feel … and you’ll get a head start on the holidays. What an awesome Christmas present to yourself!

road-running-631x421

If you want more info on our 2013 1,000 Mile Challenge including a ridiculous Excel spreadsheet, check out this link, and this one, and hey, why not this one too?!

Finally, I love me some accountability, so SCOTT, LANIE, and KIM are doing this with me. There it is y’all. Happy running!

– Allie

2 thoughts on “We’re Going Streaking!

  1. ‘What a great idea. This reminded me that I have been keeping track of my mileage since the New Year. I just went back and pulled up the stats so that I won’t forget to figure out how far I went this year. Good luck with your streak!

Leave a Reply

