{ fail }

At the beginning of this year, like any other year, plans were made, resolutions proposed and although January 1 is just another day on the calendar, for some reason it seems to be held in higher regard than say, August 4. Well, since 2013 ended so well, I guess we figured that we could make 2014 EVEN better!

To recap, on December 31, 2013, I had just finished my 1,000 Mile Challenge and we had helped build a house for a family down in Mississippi. We were feeling good and were ready to better ourselves even more in 2014. Scott and I had these grandiose plans of biking 2,000 miles and running 500. We were going to write down one thing we were thankful for each day and also invest more time in others. We were going to refinish some pieces of furniture and have more fun since we had just come off of our home remodel. Pretty simple, eh?

12.13bestofmydays-1(pp_w744_h558) IMG_4939 IMG_4567

FAIL. On all accounts. Every. Single. One.

I’ll be the first to admit that life never goes exactly the way you plan it. I think we packed so much into 2013, that we were just plain tired. We didn’t want to paint anymore. We didn’t feel like running. And our thankfulness lasted for three weeks. I have no idea what happened. If I had to guess, I would choose laziness more than anything. In the words of a friend of ours, “it sucks to suck.”

I really hope that we can get some projects knocked out, but in all honesty, sometimes I just like to sit on the couch and drink a homebrew while watching a 60 Minutes episode on volcanoes. Or sit on the back porch with a glass of wine and dinner and talk with Scott.

So, here is my new list for the rest of 2014, since it’s never too late to have goals or to pick up the pieces and start over again!

1. Run More
We are signed up for a half marathon and a 5K, so that should help in this department. Plus I forget how good I felt when I was running 30 miles a week. 

2. Finish the Music Room
It’s been painted, I just need to finish painting the crown moulding and baseboards, hang some photos, make some shelves, and maybe install some new lights. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

3. Go on Vacation
Scott and I didn’t take a vacation last year since we were doing all our home remodel stuff. We also missed out on our annual anniversary extravaganza because of a death in the family. So, this year, plans have been made and places are booked. I’m ready to see something new!

4. Refinish that dang dresser!
We’ve had this dresser for almost a year. We just need to pull the trigger and get er done.

5. Invest in other people
Sometimes I’m not the best at this. A lot of times, actually. I’m still figuring out ways to give more of my time to investing in relationships. Whether it be with friends, family, or strangers, I feel like I have selfish streaks where I couldn’t care less … and I don’t like that version of me.

Hopefully you all have fared better than us in the resolution department. Here’s to hoping we finish 2014 the way we intended! 

– Allie

Leave a Reply

