I actually screamed for ice cream

12-IMG_0535-001

I didn’t think that as a grown woman that I would ever scream for ice cream. I mean, let’s be serious here. Ice cream? Screaming only ensues at a Sam Bush concert or when there is a baby bunny sighting in our yard. Sorry, ice cream. No love for you.

But I did it ya’ll. I actually screamed and jumped when we made homemade ice cream. 

This ice cream making adventure started while we were eating popcorn on the couch one afternoon. I don’t know how we got on the subject, but Scott recalled that we had my parents’ old ice cream maker up in the attic. I got really excited, and decided to drop everything and get some ice cream made.

First, we had to make sure that the ice cream maker even worked. Once we heard it fired up, we started picking out a recipe. When Mom and Dad bequeathed this ice cream maker to us, they included a couple books full of recipes.

03-IMG_0521

We ended up picking the peach ice cream recipe straight from the owner’s manual since it had the least amount of ingredients. Didn’t want to mess anything up too badly!

02-IMG_0520

We also opted for the 2 quart recipe. We weren’t too confident in our ice cream making abilities, so we started small. The recipe is:

PEACH ICE CREAM
Ingredients
2 cups of milk
1 cup of sugar
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
2 cups of heavy whipping cream
2 cups of crushed ripe peaches

Directions
Scald 1 cup of milk until lukewarm. Add sugar and salt. Stir until dissolved. Add remaining milk. Pour into ice cream can. Add vanilla extract and fold in lightly whipped cream. Chill in refrigerator for 30 minutes. Add crushed peaches to chilled mixture before churning. Churn freeze according to directions.

I love to cook and bake. However, I was at a loss when it said to scald the milk. After some Google searching, we found that scalding milk was needed back in the day before milk was pasteurized …. you can see how old this recipe is. We also read that while scalding isn’t necessary now, it is actually beneficial so that it infuses more flavor. Okay. Whatever. I just don’t want to mess this up!

So, the next step was to figure out what scalding milk meant … as in temperature. I quickly found that scalding requires the milk to be heated to 170 degrees. The only thing we had to measure this by was a meat thermometer. Ha!

I also goofed and scalded both cups of milk, rather than just the one. Spoiler Alert: It still turned out okay!

Once the milk, salt, sugar and vanilla were in the ice cream can, I started whipping up the heavy cream. You’re looking for peaks and valleys here, people! (Sidenote: I love mixing up heavy cream. It’s like my favorite science experiment. I have no idea why, but I love it.) Once all this was mixed together it looked like this:

05-IMG_0525

Very underwhelming.

When we were picking up the ingredients at the grocery store, strawberries were on sale, so we made a last minute decision to make peach-strawberry ice cream instead.

01-IMG_0519

I cleaned and cut everything up, then threw it in my Ninja food processor for a couple seconds. I just kept adding fruit until it made 2 cups worth. I ended up with 1 pound of strawberries and 4.5 peaches.

06-IMG_0527

I put this in the fridge along with the ice cream mixture for the 30 minutes of cooling.

Then it was time for the fun part. Pass or Fail.

Honestly, this is where the tough part comes in. You have to have the right mixture of ice and salt or else the ice cream will freeze too fast or not fast enough. Since we were making 2 quarts, the directions said to use the ratio of 6 pounds of ice to 1 cup of rock salt. We picked up a 7 pound bag of ice from the gas station and went with it.

08-IMG_0532

Thankfully, Mom and Dad left us their supply of rock salt, so we were good in that department. In the directions it said to layer 2 inches of ice with a sprinkling of salt. Obviously the salt melts the ice, so you have to keep adding both.

07-IMG_0531

Once the maker started churning, the directions said that it would take about 20-30 minutes and that we should look for a consistency of “chunky mashed potatoes”. 

Directions were right on! After about 25 minutes, we had this:

09-IMG_0534

This is also where I was screaming and jumping that it actually worked!! And my official taste tester got to lick the big spoon. 🙂

10-IMG_0536

After taking a few bites, we decided to make this an adult ice cream treat and added some rum to a double old fashioned glass along with a couple scoops of ice cream. Glorious! We are suckers for rum ice cream!

The rest of the ice cream was put in the freezer. We ended up bringing it up to my parents’ for my dad’s birthday … since he looooooves ice cream.

11-IMG_0537

Well, that’s our ice cream making adventure! This simple recipe tastes amazing … like rainbows and sunshine. Also, this recipe is definitely more creamy than icy … for all you homemade ice cream connoisseurs out there. I’m thinking about making some more for this weekend since we’re having a cookout at our house. 

Finally I’ll leave you with some of the spoils from our garden. Scott did the arranging.

04-IMG_0524

Thanks for stopping in! If you have any awesome ice cream recipes, please share!!!

– Allie

5 thoughts on “I actually screamed for ice cream

  1. Woo hoo. Real ice cream is the best. You two are so cute and amazing. So much better than Great Grandma H. “ice” cream. She’d mix up whole milk, eggs, sugar and toss in the freezer and occasionally take it out and stir and scrape it as it hardened. It had a good flavor, but was icy and grainy. We didn’t complain too much except when we got brain freeze. It was easy to do with that stuff.

  2. The only time we had ice cream at home was in the winter time when there was ice on the creek, my Dad or my brothers would chop it up, then Grandma Schilling would cook a custard and mix that with the cream and milk, then it was churned by hand.
    The White Mountain Ice Cream freezer company demonstrated their freezers at the hardware show, they made pumpkin ice cream that was really good, they just added a can of pumpkin puree. You almost have me in the mood to get our freezer out and see if it still works.

  3. Yummmmm. The ice cream was delicious! Thanks for bringing it for your dad’s birthday. And I love Scott’s arrangement – I actually laughed out loud! haha

Leave a Reply

