That time our rose bush took performance enhancing drugs…

I’m not kidding you. Our rose bush in front of the house is definitely on something. We usually trim it back substantially, but we kinda forgot this year. It’s pretty enormous … and gorgeous.

09-IMG_0265

 

10-IMG_0266

The color saturation is what gets me more than anything. These photos haven’t been spiced up or anything. The flowers are really that bright. I guess that’s why they are of the “knockout” variety. In the two years we’ve lived here these bushes have never been this big or had this many flowers. I’m thinking it might be the 2-year-old neighbor kid. He must water our plants with fertilizer or something.

I went ahead and snagged a couple of these along with a bunch of peonies from our bush in the back. Our neighborhood gang of bunnies usually annihilate these at their peak. So I figured I would save them and enjoy them in the house. Plus, they smell ah-maze-ing!!!

1-photo

Gorg.

Oh and here is an update on our veggie garden. We’ve been thoroughly enjoying lots of spinach and romaine lettuce. We planted the perfect amount for two people who like salad, but may not eat it every day.

06-IMG_0207

07-IMG_0208

08-IMG_0209

We’ve been out and about the past couple of weekends and had hoped to get all the other veggies planted from our original square foot garden plan by now. We hope to get everything ready to go this week so we can plant this weekend.

All the other plants are doing really well, too. I have been nervous about the ones that we transplanted, but they are rockin’ it. Whew!

Oh and I have to give a shout out to the baby sister. She graduated this weekend with her masters degree in dietetics!!! Way to go, Lanie! I can’t wait to see what the future holds for you. 🙂

1-10151163_10202637911882909_3865605424421486990_n

She is one smart cookie.

Oh and speaking of cookies (random, I know). We’ve been having book club monthly and I’ve been terrible at updating you all (and when I say “we” I mean me and a bunch of my girlfriends … not me and Scott. That’s just strange.).

Since my last book club post, we’ve read the following:

1-New folder8

Actually, we meet next week to discuss Just Kids. Jellicoe Road is a Young Adult fictional book that takes place in Australia. It’s really slow the first 100 pages, but soooo worth it in the end. A Long Way Day is a book about a group of people who happen upon each other on New Year’s Eve in London because they want to commit suicide. It’s not a heavy book, but it’s slow, and I expected A LOT more out of it. They are coming out with the movie version in a couple months, and this may be one of the few instances where the movie is better than the book!

Anywho, when we met to discuss A Long Way Day I made my specialty: Mini Fruit Pizzas. They are sooo delicious, easy to make, and don’t taste ridiculously sweet. Essentially it is sugar cookies iced with a cream cheese spread and then topped with fruit of your choice. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

01-IMG_0200

03-IMG_0203

02-IMG_0201

I set the fruit on paper towels to absorb some of the excess juice so things don’t get too squishy on the cookies.

04-IMG_0204

05-IMG_0205

Here’s the recipe:

– 1 pkg of sugar cookie mix (I get the Betty Crocker bag mix from the bakery aisle because I am lazy)
– 1, 8oz pkg of cream cheese
– 1/3 cup of sugar
– 1/2 tsp of vanilla
– Fruit to top (mandarin oranges, strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, bananas, etc)

Bake the cookies according to instructions and let cool. While the cookies are baking, cream together cream cheese, sugar and vanilla. Cut up fruit and place on paper towel to absorb any excess juice. Once cookies are cool (doesn’t take long), spread “icing” mixture generously. Top with cut up fruit and enjoy!

You can also make one big cookie on a baking stone and ice and top the same way. This “mini” version is just a little more manageable when sharing with a group.

I’m pretty sure this is the most random post ever. Thanks for sticking in there. You deserve a cookie or something.

– Allie

4 thoughts on “That time our rose bush took performance enhancing drugs…

  1. All is beautiful and green. Rain makes things so happy to grow, it’s just amazing. We had a major storm come thru and we are extremely thankful we didn’t get the damaging winds, hail, or flooding. We did get 2″ of rain. Just across the river, some places got 6″. Everything is so green. 🙂 Your garden is wonderful. The roses are lovely as the peonies. Just love the smell. Ours (except the tree peonies which are blooming now) don’t bloom up here until Memorial weekend.

  2. I agree I think your neighbor boy is fertilizing your rose bushes, what a show!
    I love the bib lettuce you are growing, you have an amazing green thumb, along with all your other talents. so good seeing you and Scott Saturday.

Leave a Reply

