1,000 Mile Challenge

If there is one thing that I hate – it is being cold.  I love Spring, Summer and Fall … but when it turns cold outside something in me just shuts down.  The weather this year has been pretty tame so far, but winter has hung on a little too long for my taste!

This being said, my New Year’s resolution is to run 1,000 miles this year … outside.  Since we are saving up for our kitchen updates, Scott and I decided that it would be best for us to suspend our gym membership.  So, I’ve had to run all these miles outside so far.  It hasn’t been too bad, and I been really good at bundling and layering, but I’m so relieved to finally put away my thermal tights, stocking cap and gloves!  It was getting to the point that I felt like Joey from Friends:

Joey

So far I’ve reached 300 miles.  I’m about 28 miles behind, but, I’m definitely not throwing in the towel yet!

The reasoning behind all of this is to become a more consistent runner/worker-outer.  Medical journals, doctors, fitness gurus all say that you are supposed to get 30 minutes of exercise each day.  Well … I was lucky to be doing that 2-3 times a week … tops.  Most people think that I am some fitness freak, but I’m really not!  I played sports in school, but it wasn’t until college that I took up running.  I’m just like everyone else, I envy those early morning people who LOVE to work out every. single. day at 5 a.m.  I don’t.  I hate it!!

So this self-inflicted challenge is to get my butt moving.  Towards the end of December last year I decided to make my master spreadsheet.
Disclaimer – I love spreadsheets.  Like, freaking love them.  I think I might need therapy.  

The first thing with any challenge is to BE REALISTIC.  I knew that even if my life depended on it, there was no way that I was going to run 2.74 miles each day (1000/365).  Plus, since all my miles were going to be outdoors, inevitably within a year there were going to be some crappy weather days where there is no possible way I could go run “in that”.

I also knew that I needed at least 1 day off during the week.  Your body needs time to recover. Take a day and watch movies or just hang with the husband and do house projects. 🙂 I also travel frequently with work and also knew that I wasn’t going to run 90 miles in the month of December.

So my little math brain and Excel spreadsheet started pumping out numbers and I came to something like this:

1000 Miles Spreadsheet

It’s probably pretty teeny-tiny, but if you squint and see, I weighted the nicer-weather months with more mileage and the colder ones with less.  I gave myself every Sunday off and put in a longer run on Saturday.  Also in the colder months I gave myself an extra day off to help with inclement weather and because I hate running in the cold!

So, being 4 months into the challenge, what have I learned?

1.  I like to run again!  I was getting to a point where I didn’t want to go for a run because I didn’t feel 100%, so I knew that my run wasn’t going to be at my optimal pace, that I may have to walk.  Excuse after excuse.  I made a promise to myself that this time around I would go out and just run.  Who cares if I walked half of it.  Enjoy the run!

2.  By just trying to achieve a monthly mileage goal, I’ve made some new running buddies!  I’m not hard-set on finding someone my pace.  I’ll run with anyone.  Plus I love cheering others on and helping them achieve their goals. It’s a lot less lonely than setting a PR, but not having someone to share in the enjoyment.

3. When I’m not laser focused on a time goal or a certain pace, I actually enjoy my surroundings.  Like these photos taken from a couple different runs:

running trail 2

running trail

I’ll keep you updated with my progress and hopefully (fingers crossed!) I won’t have fallen so far behind by December that I have to run 10 miles a day…. let’s really hope that doesn’t happen!

Do you have any fitness or new years resolutions that you are still trying to keep?

Happy running!

– Allie

6 thoughts on “1,000 Mile Challenge

  1. Awesome story, Allie. I’m with you on morning workouts! Hate them! We must have both gotten Grandma Holtgrewe’s night owl genes. hehe But the running…. that’s a Haertling thing. Glad you’re doing so well with your challenge! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

